edamomie

An Exploration of Parenting by the Vowel

This Time They’re Deviled April 18, 2011

Filed under: Eats — edamomie @ 8:51 pm
Tags: , ,

E: Eats

Eggstraction

Eggstraction

 

I was perplexed. What were these little miracle egg concoctions my 5-yr-old, Calvin, described to me? He claimed he had made them several times at school (yes, his school APMS has Cooking 101: How to Outshine Your Mother in the Kitchen). The details seemed very elaborate: hard-boiling eggs, cutting them in half, taking out the yolk, mashing and re-shaping them. Best of all, they were so delicious! I was not connecting.

 

Calvin was so stoked about them, he insisted on showing me how to make them. Because it was such an unknown for me, I considered just letting his request blow over. Then another sensible grown-up, after hearing Calvin’s recipe, quickly made the connection that he was talking about deviled eggs. And finally, it adds up for me.

 

Now, I was game. We checked to discover there were six eggs left in the egg carton. We agreed to use five and leave one for dad’s breakfast. The other two essentials were also on-hand: mustard and mayo.

 

Patience When Peeling, Please

Patience When Peeling, Please

 

For the simple act of hard-boiling an egg, there are thousands of theories on how-to. My husband and I have had heated discussions quite frequently about the best way to do so. We now know that my method works. After you place the eggs in a pot, fill to cover them with two inches of water. Boil for 7 minutes, remove with slotted spoon, submerge in a bowl of ice water, crack them on a hard surface, then slip off the shell while submerging again. See the modern-day wiki video as proof.

 

Calvin ran the show. After a 7 minute boil, he took all of the eggs out and we got to cracking and peeling. An exercise in patience. For some, the shell did not go so well. Next step: cut them in half. The whites might have torn a little in the de-yolking process, making it tough to get that deviled stuff back into the hollowed out white while looking delectable. The yellow yolks were mashed with a fork and with only a spoon for loose measuring, he went back and forth alternating mayo and mustard additions. He was going for taste and consistency. He got it to his liking, then we took a short break.

 

Eggsceptionally Good

Eggsceptionally Good

 

When we returned to the task, we filled the 10 halves with the mustardy mixture and admired our work. We brought them to the table. I left momentarily to get a few glasses of water. I returned and that kid had eaten 5 of the halves single-handedly.

 

When my 7-yr-old and I tried them, we gave them pretty high marks. I was impressed that he taught me a new skill in the kitchen with no crutch of a recipe for exact measuring or my help.

 

He has since been beaming with confidence and has taken pleasure in sharing the fact that before him, I didn’t even know what a deviled egg was. Not entirely true, but I have not bothered to correct him. After all, he did enlighten me and reverse the norm of parent as teacher to child.

 

2 Responses to “This Time They’re Deviled”

  1. AUNT LOIS' Says:

    best way to hard boil eggs –steamer, put water in bottom, put basket in holder, I put 18 eggs in carefully, place lid on, plug in and set timer for 20 minutes and go about my business and when the timer goes off just leave them in there until cooled — use eggs that are at least a week old and they peel so easy. Andy, Ravelle’s dad, showed me.
    Eggs are great in making tuna sandwiches, onion, celery, pickle relish, mayo, mustard, dash of vinegar and touch of sugar. egg salad sandwiches also are great.

    • edamomie Says:

      I do think those steamers are fancy. 20 minutes and you don’t get the chalky gray ring around the yolks? Calvin and I must see this egg cooker the next time the next time we pay you a visit!


Leave a Reply

